U10 Outdoor competition Rules

General Rules

Other than as set out below all matches will be played according to the Laws of Cricket;

  1. The Under 10 Competition is called the Sir George (Gubby) Allen Trophy
  2. Teams shall comprise 10 players, each of whom shall only be a bona fide member of the club he represents.
  3.  Umpires or match managers may give advice or instruction to any player who is on the field of play
  4. Each Area shall be responsible for organising its own competition. Two teams from each Area will compete in the County quarter finals.
  5. No bowler may bowl more than one fifth of the overs.  All current ECB directives must be applied.
  6. CRICKET BALLS. The home club shall supply one ball in reasonable condition for each match up to the County Quarter Finals/ Semi-Finals and County Final for which new balls will be supplied by MJCA.
  7. UMPIRES. Clubs shall supply umpires for matches up to the County Quarter Finals/ Semi-Finals.  For the final MJCA will appoint independent umpires.  If clubs have acceptable umpires who are willing to stand in these matches please let the competition organiser know in good time so that arrangements can be finalised as early as possible.


The current Laws of Cricket shall apply except:

  1. The pitch: 17 yards long. The ball: 4 3⁄4 ozs.
  2. To allow innings to be of 10, 15 or 20 overs – the number to be agreed prior to the start of a match.
  3. Each team starts with a score of 200 runs.
  4. The batting team shall be divided into pairs. Each pair shall bat for 2, 3 or 4 overs – the number to be agreed prior to the start of a match.
  5. Batsmen shall have unlimited ‘lives’ but each ‘life’ shall result in 5 runs being deducted from the total. No batsman who is out shall face the next ball. Batsmen shall change ends at the fall of each wicket except if a wicket falls from the last ball of an over.
  6. All players except the wicket keeper must bowl and no player may bowl more than one over more than any other bowler.
  7. Wides and No Balls shall count as 2 runs plus any runs scored with no extra ball added to the over except that in the final over of an innings an extra ball will be bowled for each Wide or No Ball bowled in that over.
  8. No fielder, except the wicket keeper, shall be allowed to field nearer than 11 yards measured from the middle stump of the striker’s wicket, except behind the wicket on the off side.
  9. In the event of the umpires being satisfied a player is incapacitated his place may be taken by a reserve who shall bat and/or bowl in his place. If no reserve is available any over due to be bowled by the injured player shall be bowled by another player without exceeding his quota. The captain of the fielding side shall choose one of the players in the first 4 pairs to bat a second time to make up the 5th pair. Wicket-keepers may not be changed during the course of an innings, expect in the event of an injury.
  10. A ball bouncing more than twice or rolling along the ground before it reaches the popping crease should be called a no ball, i.e. the ball can bounce more than once before reaching the popping crease (amendment to Law 21.7).
  11. Bowlers bowling dangerous short pitched deliveries or non-deliberate dangerous beamers should be warned twice and only removed from the attack after the third such delivery, i.e. they receive an additional warning (amendment to Laws 41.6 and 41.7).If a bowler bowls a deliberate beamer, they should be removed from the attack immediately without a warning.Please note that warnings for bowling beamers only apply in hardball cricket.

    In all cases, beamers should be called no ball.  A beamer is defined as a ball that passes the batter (or would have passed the batter), without bouncing, at waist height or above standing upright at the popping crease.

    The Laws related to bat sizes (Law 5), deliberately distracting, deceiving or obstructing batsmen (Law 41.5) and the yellow and red card provisions related to player conduct (Law 42) shall not apply in this competition.


The team scoring most runs after deductions for wickets lost shall be the winner.

If scores are equal the winner will be:

  1. The side which has taken most wickets.
  2. If still equal: the side with the higher score at the end of 20 overs, 19, 18 etc. until a winner is established.
  3. If still equal: 9 players from each team, with the exception of the wicket keepers, shall bowl alternately at the wicket and the team scoring most hits shall be the winner. If the teams score the same number of hits, the same players shall bowl again on a sudden death basis until a winner is established


Two teams from each area will contest the County quarter-final and semi-final stages on the basis of two leagues each containing five teams.

Draw to be made by the competition organiser.

Two points will be awarded for a win and the teams with the highest points from each league will progress to the final.

In the event that two or more teams tie on points the winner will be decided by dividing each team’s total runs scored in all matches at this stage by the total wickets lost at this stage; the winner being the team with the highest average.



The county wide quarter final/semi final stage of this event will take place at North London CC and North Middlesex CC on Sunday 25th July 2021 starting at 10.30am.

The County Final will be on Sunday, 22 August 2021 at Winchmore Hill CC.

MJCA are very grateful to North London CC, North Middlesex CC and ?? for the use of their grounds for these matches.